Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

Author: Susan Cainquiet

My rating: 4.5 of 5

Did you know that somewhere between one-third and one-half of the people in this world are introverts? Sure doesn’t seem like it most times. In fact, a lot of the time, it seems like if you’re not talking all the time and involved in all sorts of social activities, there’s something wrong with you. But what if there’s more to the quiet people than meets the eye? If there are things hidden inside that the extroverts of the world would do well to take the time to listen to?

I’m usually not really into non-fiction very much, but I really enjoyed reading Quiet. As someone who is constantly being told to speak up, to be more aggressive, to be more involved, I feel the messages of this book very personally. It does a great job of affirming introverts without excusing them from the real world–because let’s face it, it’s probably impossible to just hide away somewhere for the rest of your life. At the same time, this book provides a powerful message for extroverts, showing a bit of what’s going on inside quiet people, the different things they need, and the unexpected insights that introverts can have. The author does a good job of compiling lots of different research and drawing logical conclusions from both that and her own experience, while at the same time presenting the material in a very readable, approachable manner. One of the things I most appreciated was the practical recommendations Cain gave for handling life as an introvert–nothing groundbreaking perhaps, but very practical things that you might not think of normally. I would recommend Quiet especially for introverts who need encouragement and (perhaps even more so) for extroverts.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Book Review

5 responses to “Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

  1. Oh! Sounds very intriguing. I consider myself as an ambivert. I can be both an extrovert and introvert, but I think I tend to be more introvert in nature. I like comfortable silence which is difficult now to find in our modern society. I would love to read this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was interesting book I think! Though then again I felt like it was… I don’t know 😀 too pro introverts (which was really really good) but a bit non-objective.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can see what you mean. Partly because the author was pooling research from others. Partly because she was writing an inspirational book of sorts. It’s an idealized picture of what’s possible. But I still found it enjoyable and helpful. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

