Interstellar

Directed by Christopher NInterstellarolan/Produced by Emma Thomas, Christopher Nolan, & Lynda Obst/Written by Jonathan Nolan & Christopher Nolan/Music by Hans Zimmer/Starring Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway, Jessica Chastain, Bill Irwin, Ellen Burstyn, & Michael Caine

My rating: 3.5 of 5

Once, Cooper lived his dream, piloting spaceships and living a life of discovery and adventure. Now, seemingly lifetimes later, he and his family live on a dying planet, eking out a living by farming–barely keeping ahead of the dust enough to survive. No one goes into space anymore. Actually, the kids in school (his daughter Murphy included) are being taught that no one ever went into space, that it was all a lie. But even in the midst of this worldwide depression, Coop can’t forget; he still dreams of the life that’s gone forever. . . . Or so he thinks. When an unexplained phenomenon (which Murph calls her “ghost”) gives them the coordinates to a secret NASA base, the future opens up to Coop–a life once again pursuing his dream as an astronaut. Only this time, the stakes are unimaginable: the lives of everyone on the dying planet he’s leaving behind. But is saving the world worth leaving his family behind, possibly forever?

First of all, I need to make it clear that Interstellar is not a movie I would have picked for myself, and my rating is unfavorably (and probably unfairly) skewed just because this isn’t really my sort of movie. In other words, my brothers made me watch this. There is honestly a lot that is good about this story. For one, the music is epic–I always love Hans Zimmer’s OSTs. Visually, the entire movie is incredibly striking as well. The acting is very well done. The science is convincing. I was intrigued by the exploration of topics such as the nature of time and the theory of relativity. But what I found most fascinating about this story was the psychological studies is provided: the lonely few who venture into the unknown, those left behind feeling abandoned, those who had given up all hope of ever seeing another human again. I think the writing and acting both dealt with these excellently. Oh, and the suspense levels throughout are absolutely killer–mostly in a good way. So, with all these good things, why the low rating? I think it’s mostly for personal reasons, honestly. Although the way the creators dealt with the isolation of space was well done, it was just too sad and lonely for me. And the attempt to redeem that sadness was too little, too late, in my opinion. Also, as I said before, the science was convincing (except for Murph’s poltergeist) . . . up until the last little bit when they got into extremely theoretical science, to the point that it was quite unconvincing in my opinion. More like fanciful guesswork? Maybe they had some basis in real scientific theory for how they wrote it, but it was lost on me. Finally, I just found the whole movie to be too long–I mean, it needed to be that long to get the story in, but between the length and the suspense, I was completely exhausted by the end. So, I guess it really just depends on your taste–if you like this sort of movie, Interstellar is a pretty outstanding story. But personally, I prefer Nolan’s work on The Dark Knight and Inception.

4 Comments

Filed under Media Review

4 responses to “Interstellar

  1. I love Nolan, but I don’t think Interstellar is my cup of tea either. I may watch it anyway since my friends have been bugging me to see it. I also really enjoyed The Dark Knight and Inception! (Batman a little more than Inception though.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review – I always like when someone explains why they were less than thrilled rather than just saying the thing wasn’t very good. Actually, not being in general a fan of the big action blockbuster space movies, I think you’ve persuaded me I might enjoy this one – sounds a bit more thoughtful…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by and reading. 😀 And yes, considering your reviews as a whole, I do think you might enjoy this one. It’s a lot more into the psychology and human interest side of things than it is on the big space explosions and such. And the thought that went into the science (until it went weird) is very neat as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

