Dragon’s Breath: and Other True Stories

Dragon's Breath: and Other True StoriesAuthor/Illustrator: MariNaomi

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

In this collection of comic shorts, artist MariNaomi provides a unique look into her own childhood and young adulthood. From her impressions of relatives growing up to the guys she dated, she gives a (sometimes painfully) honest evaluation of a series of events that stand out as influential in her growing up.

I have to be frank: I’m probably not the best person to review Dragon’s Breath. It’s really not my style. The art is very good–spare and expressive–but not to my taste. Furthermore, I just don’t get the impression that I would like the author as a person if I met her, just personally, and I think that flavors my experience with this volume significantly. Having said that, I wasn’t hugely impressed. As I said, the art was good and the stories are similarly spare and yet emotionally loaded . . . but not to my taste at all. I think a lot of other readers would enjoy these comics a lot, however, so I guess Dragon’s Breath is one collection that I’ll just say you should see for yourself whether you like it or not, okay?

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

