Boy Meets Boy

Author: David Levithan

In a lot of ways, Paul has an incredible life: great friends, a loving and supportive family, and a community that is open, accepting, and perhaps even nurturing in its own way. He’s even met this incredible guy Noah who is not only just about perfect but who seems to like Paul back. But life is not all smooth sailing, by any means. Between his friends’ dating dramas, his ex showing up wanting some sort of reconciliation, his friend Tony’s parent troubles, and some devastating misunderstandings with Noah, it seems like Paul’s ordered, happy world is falling apart.

I’m always impressed by David Levithan’s stories–they are amazing in the way they break down stereotypes and barriers to get down to just people, real people with feelings, dreams, relationships that are precious to them. Boy Meets Boy is a great example of this, drawing in a wide array of characters and sticking them together in situations that emphasize both their individuality and their humanity. Levithan’s insights into people never cease to amaze me and challenge me–that’s one of the primary reasons I keep coming back to his books. I absolutely love the characters in this book! There are numerous ones that I really like (as in, I’d like them if I met them in real life), and even the ones who would really annoy me are vivid, tangible, and interesting to read. The plot flows from the characters so naturally that I can’t imagine it going any other way–which is how books should be, in my opinion. My only complaints: 1) Paul’s world is too perfect. But I get it; his world is a dream for what could be. 2) The portrayal of religious people is really harsh here. I know that there are religious people who are exactly that way, and worse–I’ve met them. But there are others who are some of the most compassionate, understanding folks I know. Stereotypes go both ways, you know? Regardless of those complaints, I truly enjoyed Boy Meets Boy, and would definitely recommend it both as a sweet romance and as an important picture of the world as it could be.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

