Oh Say Can You Say?

Author: Dr. Seuss

I dare you to read this book aloud three times fast. Okay, so for myself that would be impossible. In Oh Say Can You Say?, Dr. Seuss presents a variety of challenging, vocabulary-building, humorous, and nonsensical tongue twisters ranging in topic from traveling with unusual pets to purchasing gifts. All with the classic Seuss flair, naturally. I’m not typically a fan of tongue twister books–they feel cheap and not literary at all, something like joke books–but I make an exception for this one. This is one of the books that I read/had read to me when I was first learning to read, and I still remember it fondly from that time. It may not be great art, but it’s certainly good fun! Plus, it’s a good educational tool for teaching kids to read and enunciate clearly (or adults, for that matter). Personally, I think that Oh Say Can You Say? is one of those “children’s books” that is both timeless and ageless. And impossible to read aloud!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

