The Adventures of Sir Lancelot the Great

the adventures of sir lancelot the greatAuthor: Gerald Morris

Illustrator: Aaron Renier

My rating: 4 of 5

Knights’ Tales, vol. 1

In his Squires Tales series, Gerald Morris has already crafted a vibrant collection of retellings of Arthurian legend. Now as he begins his Knights Tales series with The Adventures of Sir Lancelot the Great, Morris once again embarks on a quest to bring new life, humor, and good sense to the tales of Arthur’s court. This books is written in a style that is appropriate for younger audiences, moving quickly, keeping the story line from becoming overly complicated, and avoiding the stickier parts of Lancelot’s story. However, the witty episodes and endearing characters are accessible and enjoyable for all ages and reading abilities. I am looking forward to reading the other volumes in this series and would recommend the first volume to all readers, but particularly to younger readers or as a read-aloud book.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “The Adventures of Sir Lancelot the Great

  1. I’m way too old for The Squire’s Tales, but I still do love them. They’re hilarious and I’m already on Book 8, even though I only started a couple months ago. I had no idea Gerald Morris was doing a series called The Knights Tales, so thank you for that!

    Like

  2. I totally agree; I was thrilled to find he was doing a second series.

    Thanks for checking out my blog. I hope you can find some other books to enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

